Medical Task Force Members

The Infectious Diseases Outbreak Management Tool was developed by a specifically created Medical Task Force that included representatives from International Sports Federations, experts in running medicine and public health. The tool represents a consensus agreement among experts.

Members of the Medical Task Force are:

Jürgen Michael SteinackerFISA–World Rowing Federation
Inggard LereimFIS-Ski–International Ski Federation
John CiancaIIRM
Francis O’ConnorIIRM – International Institute for Race Medicine
Wayne DermanIPC–International Paralympic Committee
Sergio MiglioriniITU–International Triathlon Union
Xavier BigardUCI–Union Cycliste Internationale
Stéphane BermonWorld Athletics
Paolo Emilio AdamiWorld Athletics
Fumihiro YamasawaWorld Athletics
Brian McCloskeyCentre on Global Health Security, Chatham House, UK and Co-chair WHO Expert Group on COVID-19 and mass gatherings


Chris TroyanosInternational Institute for Race Medicine
Richard BudgettInternational Olympic Committee
Amaia Artazcoz GlariaHealth Emergencies Program (WHE), World Health Organization (WHO)


The Medical Task Force would like to acknowledge the work done by the WHO, on whose documents the current tool relies on, and particularly thank Maurizio Barbareschi, Senior Adviser to the Executive Director, WHO Health Emergencies, for the valuable guidance and advices provided

Advisory Group